Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


June 25, 2005 - 9:43 a.m.

Okay, I'll bite



I have to say at the outset that I've never done anything like this. Be gentle with me, it's my first time...

Jazz threw down the gauntlet, with a meme question,about music. She struck a chord (haha I kill me.) Here they is:

-- What is my total volume of music?
Oh hell I don't know. I have about 150 LPs packed in boxes in the basement. I got my last LP as a birthday gift from my ex-wife in 1986, Spike by Elvis Costello. I have a Dual 1246 turntable but the muting mechanism in the tone arm is stuck on all the time, and the belt is so old I had to help it spin up last time I used it. I have well over a hundred CDs, and I realize this is a paltry sum when compared to the vastness of some collections; bear in mind I was raising two kids during this CD collection period. Diapers and doctor visits cut into my CD buying funds, and kids are always a better investment. Geek that I am, I'm currently transferring all of the music in this house (minus the LPs) on to my music server on my network here at the JohnnieV casa. It fulfills a dream I've had, to have all my music accessible in database format. It keeps me off the streets.

-- What is the last CD I bought?
Pinback, Summer in Abandon and Frank Zappa, Cheap Thrills. I can't say that they're in heavy rotation at the JohnnieV household, they're just two more selections in the growingly obscure collection I'm building over a lifetime.

-- What song is playing right now?
In my head? Sweet Love , by Fleetwood Mac. I got out of bed awhile ago and invariably a song begins playing in my head upon waking. Every day. They're not always songs I like. Sometimes they are songs I truly don't like but yet there they are. I figure the song is playing because the lyrics are supposed to mean something to me, but there is no rational explanation for waking up with Bobby Vinton playing on the mental jukebox. That's just cruel!

-- What five songs do I listen to a lot because they are special to me?
This one's a tough one... hmmm. My Foolish Heart as done by John McLaughlin, about 30 years ago. No lyrics (I'm convinced John can't speak), but the melody is haunting and poignant. Play this one at my funeral. Anything by Elvis is special (Elvis of the "black glasses and short" variety, not the overweight, dead on the bathroom floor kind.) In my opinion he only bombed once, that whiny lame thing he did with Burt Bacharach was a test to see how loyal his fans are. The Firebird Suite by Stravinsky. The knob on the CD player in my car always gets turned to 11 when I'm listening to this one. Shining Star, by Earth Wind and Fire. I gets happy feet whilst listening to this one, and it reminds me of the days when the most important thing to me was scoring another ounce of reefer, and my only responsibility was my 1966 Buick Wildcat. Number five would go to Wise Up by Aimee Mann. That song represents a turning point in my recent history, where I kinda wised up myself and closed a hopeless and frustrating chapter in my life. I realized that being empty and alone is better than empty and alone and hoping.

-- Five people I'm passing the musical baton to?
I just had an image of a high school gym class dodge ball event, and this list is the red ball. Who should I aim it at... hmmm? Nixtress definitely deserves this challenge. Laurel825 too (I'm not providing a link, it's locked.) She and I come from different generations, it would be fun to see her take on this. Let's see what Nancypants does with this, since we come from the same generation. I'd give this to Bilham, but he doesn't have an online or offline presence with me, I haven't heard from him in a long time, and that worries me. I hope he's not in jail again. He and I were musical twins about 30 years ago; the only one from my past that I keep (semi regular) contact with. I'd ask Newt, but I don't know where she is.

Is that five?






the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina