Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


January 24, 2005 - 11:05 p.m.

Perfection

1 Cinnamon raisin bagel, halved
Raspberry preserves (or jam if you're seed averse)
Nutella: chocolate nectar of the gods

The blending of all of the flavors is an explosion of goodness to the soul. Like all good creations, it was done by accident. I've always loved the blend of raspberry with Nutella; but the cinnamon raisin overtones add rich harmonics to the burst of flavor. This bagel added something I'd missed when using a plain one as a vehicle of Nutellaberry deliciousness.

I don't know nothin' bout no carbs or calories, I just know what good is. Life is about balance, and balance to me is having that load of flavor energy, delivered on a bagel from time to time.


As the years wear on, I look at my hands.  The right one wrinkles on the backs of the fingers when the flesh is relaxed.  The left one is the same as ever, actually looking more youthful than its right partner.  49 does rapidly end, onto the 50th year.

Son1 has changed since living with me.  I have changed since living with Son1.  What emerges is the latent Son1, the thoughtful, careful one.  I remember that demeanor from him at age four.  He plans before acting, lately his plans have been good ones and they've worked out for him.
I am going to miss him when he leaves in May.
When they were smaller, and visited on the weekends, I used to leave some of their clutter out for awhile, as a lingering reminder of when they were here.  Now, the reminders are around me all the time.  Despite my annoyance, I drink it in all the same.  The ascerbic character of the annoyance is softened with the lingering experience of not having him here, and knowing that at any time; not just May - he could be gone.  It's not a haunting fear, just a dose of perspective.  Ya know, the balance thing.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina