Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


July 05, 2004 - 10:12 a.m.

NO fireworks

I don't normally comment in this space about guestbook entries, but I couldn't resist this one:

that 25,000 year stuff is complete crap however. No written records.

Bill, I love ya man, but sometimes you think like an engineer too much. I know this because I work with them all the time. Engineers and scientists like proof, either through experiment or documentation. Remember though, just because you can't see things doesn't mean they don't exist! Twenty years of dealing with electromagnetic energy supports that contention. I can't see it, but I see the effect. In many ways cause and effect is sometimes elusive.


On to the recap.

This Fourth of July weekend was dramatically different than last year. There wasn't so much as a sparkler at this address last night. None of us had the money or time to buy stuff to explode. Son1 worked until close, and Son2 had his friends here. There are two of them, sometimes a third, they've taken up part-time residence here this summer, which isn't all bad. They're cleaning out my pantry though, I may have to start passing a collection plate. I don't mind all that much, the memories of Son2's loneliness and boredom from past summers has not been forgotten.

B&D travel in a beat up old Chevy Cavalier and they gain the mobility that Son2 lacked before, so this house seems less like a summertime prison for him. My fears rest in the other drivers on the road and not B&D. I put B&D together, connected by an ampersand, because they are always together. They're two years apart like Son1 and 2, they almost look like twins. My ex was wary of these two, but I see them as good kids. They do stupid stuff as teenagers and adults alike are prone to do, but they mean well. They also carry the propensity to clean up after themselves, for the most part. I see that as a positive influence.

So Son2 and B&D orbited around the house, and spent some time in the pool. I spent the time with a new friend, we watched the neighborhood displays from the balcony. We spent the rest of the evening watching a calm little fire in the backyard beneath the rocket's red glare and the bombs bursting in air; originating from the house two doors down. A strange turn of events that, typically the abundance of explosions was from here. Fireworks are much more annoying when you're not the one setting them off. Understanding allows me to let it go. Decency prevailed and the displays ended by eleven. I was asleep by midnight. As usual, dawn broke here with a cluster of teenage boys asleep on my living room floor.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina