Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


May 01, 2004 - 9:44 a.m.

More changes

I read yesterday's editorial in the local paper. They're applauding the decision of the small private university near my house. The university has plans to expand, by buying 80-100 houses nearby. This would allow them to make parking lots, dormitories, apartments and townhouses for students, as well as open areas.

The area they want to occupy includes my house.

They say that this process may take as much as 15 years to complete. The city has also said it will not use it's power of condemnation during this process. I think it's possible though; that if a standoff occurred between a little homeowner and a big university that the outcome would be obvious. My lawyers can beat up your lawyer.

The other not so obvious effect of this impacts the potential sale value of my house. Who would want this place now, with a university-sponsored wrecking ball hovering over it? I can see the university from my bedroom window, undoubtedly my place will go in the first wave.

I guess it's time to end the thought of any future improvements to my house, and wait for the nice folks from the university to ring my doorbell and tell me what my house is worth.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina