Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


April 26, 2004 - 10:30 p.m.

Past blasting

So, I was standing in my dining room reading the paper. If I stand, it's less of a commitment. I looked outside to see a Jeep Liberty pull up in my driveway. A guy walked to the door. I figured he was either lost or selling something.

I answered the door. It was almost immediate recognition. It was Phil, the guy who's known me for more years than anyone.

I last saw Phil about nine years ago. I was still married. He dropped by out of the blue, just like tonight. I recognized the face and the voice, but the years have changed both of us.

He's divorced, and re-married again. His current wife works for the city I live in, so now he lives less than a mile from me. After 40 years we live close to each other again, in the same town.

We spent over two hours tonight, getting caught up on what's happened in the past years between visits. He's been with the same company for 26 years, a company not known for that kind of longevity amongst their employees. They have a revolving door there of sorts. His ex-wife left him with a quarter-mil in credit card debts. I knew it couldn't last. He has two sons roughly the same age as mine.

Phil and I hung together as little kids, exploring the woods and creek, made Molotov Cocktails, ice skated and smoked tons of pot together. He went to the same school as I, but graduated about a year earlier than me. He was one of the smartest guys I knew, but back then he did just enough to get by, like myself.

When people from my past come to visit, in person or email, there are always promises to stay in touch. They always evaporate though, there's a reason you were apart for all those years. I hope it's not the same with Phil.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina