Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


February 05, 2004 - 7:01 p.m.

Corollary

Part of my job involves babysitting. That is, the tests don't require a lot of my attention. It's mostly automated, so I'm there to keep track of things and change antennas periodically. As a matter of fact I happen to be babysitting right now!

Truth be told, I play a lot of solitaire just to kill the time. My win/loss ratio is not so good, but it keeps my mind occupied during ten hour test days.

As I played solitaire today, it occurred to me that this game is a lot like my love life! (Stick with me, it'll make sense�)

Every time I start a new game (meet someone new) I anticipate winning because it's an un-played game with all kinds of potential. Many times the cards just aren't there, and the game ends pretty quickly (one date experience).

Other times, things just seem to fall into place, all the aces are up. I keep getting great card combinations, and it looks as if I might win it! (I fall in love) But there are one or two cards that prevent me from taking it all the way. Sometimes I can see them in the discard pile, they're not in the right sequence so I can't get to them. So, I flip through the discard pile one or two times just to make sure it's over ("You're a wonderful man JohnnieV, but I have some issues I have to work through before I can make a commitment to you or anyone" [but mostly you]).

The game ends of course but not due to luck or skill. I just got a bad deal. New game. F2.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina