Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


January 27, 2004 - 7:31 p.m.

Please explain...

I live in the Midwest. Snow is a winter way of life. We know how to drive in the stuff, after the first snowfall we all get acclimated and we're all pretty much used to it.

We got two inches last night. Two inches, maybe three. That's not very much, is it? Let me put it another way.

We got 500 millimeters of snow last night!

Does that seem like more? You would think we got clobbered last night based on all the noise and panic the TV news people were bleating this morning.

Spin-outs!

Accidents!

Very slick roads!

Be careful out there people, it's very treacherous!

All of this nonsense for two to three fricking inches of snow. Any other year we do two inches of snow like it's nothing. I couldn't get in an accident or spin-out if I wanted to, crawling along at five miles per hour.

There was only one bit of excitement on my crawl in this morning. Some guy in a Ford pickup got tired of waiting in line, I guess he decided he knew of a road none of us had heard about and he was on his way to get to it. He pulled a hard left, wheels spinning; he was going to do a U turn. He mis-calculated his velocity and almost ended up in the ditch on the other side of the road. Well I was hoping that would be the end, the oncoming cars didn't seem too happy with his sudden decision.

I don't mind driving in snow, I know how. I know the limits of my vehicle's traction, and I'm familiar with inertia. But I hate waiting in line, and going slow for no good reason.

Pick up the pace, people.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina