Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


January 07, 2004 - 6:42 a.m.

Did you know...

If you mistakenly wire the alternator B+ output to the secondary side of a starter relay that the starter motor will spin and spin and spin until it self destructs? Fuck me. I didn't see how Son1 disconnected it while the engine was floating. While I was mis-wiring it underneath the car, the voice in my head said "No no no, you idiot! The alternator B+ output is in common with the primary side of the relay! How is the charging current supposed to get to the battery?" I should learn to listen to myself.

$150.00 later, the car starts. And runs, normally all functions intact. Yay me, I can completely dis-assemble and re-assemble a Saturn powerplant and make it run afterwards. The starter motor will not go on Son1's itemized invoice from me, that was my mistake. So far he owes me about $1300.

The very next day, Son1 called and said the car has no power under load. It's fine at idle, but it barely gets out of it's own way on the road. Sounds like a plugged catalytic converter to me. Damn, more money to spend on it, and me with no money. Son1 is beginning to feel like he's completely jinxed when it comes to cars.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina