Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


December 28, 2003 - 8:47 a.m.

The Floating Engine, Part 2

To see a 4 cylinder engine floating high above where it used to be is a miraculous thing. Seeing the wire harness still tethering it to the car it once belonged to brings one back to earth. Worrying that all those connectors will get back to the right places dampens the awe.

God smiled. As we bolted the engine to the new transmission, the holes for the torque converter were aligned perfectly with the holes on the flywheel. The engine/trans combo was lifted high in the air, and we lowered it in place with relative ease. And no one got hurt.

Re-connecting the parts and pieces back to the engine took more time than I anticipated, there isn't much room to work inside that crowded space. We refilled the crankcase and transmission with oil. We re-attached the radiator and filled it with coolant. Given my recent experience with engine coolant, I am a little nervous about that.

Everything is in place now, but the castle nuts that hold the lower ball joints and the tie rod ends on both sides have mysteriously disappeared. We have one, and I ran to several places at 5:30 yesterday afternoon to find replacements. No such luck. Son1 said he cranked the engine yesterday, but I don't think it started, and I don't know that he was trying to get it to start. If it runs, God will smile again; Son1 can put the front tires on it and be on his way.

And I will get the other side of my garage, and my free time back again.


Christmas was wonderful, thankyouverymuch. I got everything I wanted, more than I anticipated, thanks to my Gardenangel. She gave me the gift I've been wanting for over seven years, the gift of Real Life.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina