Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


October 16, 2003 - 9:28 p.m.

Coolant Redux

It started on Tuesday. I was stuck in traffic on the way to work when I noticed the temp gauge was edging up beyond its normal range. Damn it. Does this stuff never end? Up went the thermostat dial to 90 and the fan went on full. That pulled it down into the normal range.

When the engine was cool I poured the last of the 50/50 coolant I had stashed in the trunk from the last time. It took it all. It was a high temp drive home too.

Wednesday morning I poured over a gallon of coolant into the overflow tank. This is not good. Halfway to work the temp started to rise, and again the heater helped keep the car cool on the rest of the way to work.

I am normally patient but even I know my limits. Based on referrals from co-workers I gave Gary at A&G Automotive a call. I am tired of fucking with this thing. I told my tale and he told me to drop it off that night. I made a toasty drive over there in rush hour traffic. My Gardenangel was there to give me a ride home.

Visions of new radiators danced in my worried head as I pondered what might be wrong with my car. I began to doubt the wisdom of hanging on to a car with 122,000 miles on the clock, but I am far far away from affording a replacement.

An unscrupulous mechanic would play into the situation and explain my need for a new radiator, especially after I had outlined all the things I'd already replaced. Gary explained to me that all I needed was a new radiator cap. The old one was weak and wouldn't hold pressure. It blew off steam and coolant, the engine ran hotter as a result. Forty five dollars later and I'm on my way.

Forty five dollars. Oh and by the way, the engine cradle bushings you were worried about falling out? Don't worry about it, you shouldn't have to replace them, the car will drive fine without them.

My faith in human kindness has been restored. You need work done on your car? Email me, I'll give you the number for A&G Automotive.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina