Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


August 18, 2003 - 6:55 a.m.

August 17, 2003

Director of Quality Assurance

Moen Incorporated

25300 Al Moen Drive

North Olmsted, Ohio 44070-8022

Dear Director of Quality Assurance,

Enclosed in this box is the last Moen faucet I will ever buy. It�s my gift to you, maybe you can figure out what went wrong. It�s enclosed in the box the replacement came in, a brand I�ve come to trust more than yours.

I bought this faucet in 1999, paying well over $100, certainly more than the ones surrounding it in the store. I bought it because I trusted the name, and I figured paying more than average would ensure quality.

Within a year, the glue holding the hot side ceramic knob broke loose. I used epoxy to fix it. Shortly after that the cold side let go. The knobs became more difficult to turn, until today when I decided I�d had it. In 20 minutes the American Standard faucet replaced your inherently defective product.

Please don�t tell me I should have contacted your Service Department. A faucet should last at least 15-20 years, especially one made using present-day manufacturing techniques. I don�t feel I should have to replace faucets every four years. The plating may wear thin and get scratched, but the mechanism should work flawlessly for years.

I tried to dis-assemble the cartridge assembly thinking I could replace it and fix the problem. It was impossible without scratching the finish. Replacing the entire thing was a much better solution.

Sincerely,

JohnnieV







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina