Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


December 08, 2002 - 9:54 a.m.

"It's Christmas, for Christ Sakes!"

Yes that's an actual quote. From my older brother. It cracks me up every time I think of it. It's become a standard phrase in our house.

Two years ago, Sons One and Two and I drove up to my brother's palatial estate in WI. He has a beautiful old house with a view of Lake Michigan. He also had a houseful of guests, including us, my Mom (who he flew in special delivery from AZ, her first Christmas since Dad died), and all of his ex-girlfriend's relatives. They were in the majority of course, a close linked Italian family. (none of us knew about the "Ex" part yet, that would unfold later on that year)

So with the house fully populated and the house elegantly decorated for Christmas (the Ex has excellent taste in decorating), my brother is a happy camper. He has a colorful sweater on (he and I share a love of colorful sweaters) and he's moving amongst the many people in his warm house on Christmas Day. He notices that the lights on the tree and the lights over the fireplace mantle are not on. He utters the now famous quote:

"Jesus, let's turn on the lights in here. It's Christmas for Christ's sake!"







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina