Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


July 31, 2002 - 11:05 p.m.

A day in the life

He had red hair that he kinda wore in long floppy red curls. He had a mouth full of what looked more like white corn kernels than teeth. And he was rumored to have been muttering to himself as he strolled through the lot looking for cars. He looked mid-twenties and well fed.

He came into the store where I was, hiding from the blast furnace outside. With some people, you wonder if you should make eye contact. He was one of those people. He was walking by my desk. He was between me and Steven, who was sitting inside a Chrysler Town and Country minivan with both sliding doors open. Steven was grinning like a jack-o-lantern at me, as if to say "He's YOUR problem now dude!" Steven had already encountered this gentleman outside.

We made eye contact.

"I see these cars at the auctions and they scare me, man."

It was almost as if he was in the midst of a conversation he was having with himself, and he was inviting me in as the third member. I took the bait.

"What is it that frightens you so, sir?"

"Well I don't know man, people buy these cars and they break down. I used to work at an auto auction and I've seen it all, man."

Gosh darn it, there's that positive attitude I'm looking for! It's smelling like trouble.

"Well I guess you just have to be careful what you buy then... Did you see anything you like here?"

"No man, your cars are all too expensive... cars sure have gotten expensive!"

This guy is an endless source of valuable knowledge.

"How much were you looking to spend?"

"Oh, three or four thousand dollars"

Christine came to my rescue. "Sir, you won't get much car for that much money..."

I made my escape, mainly to chastise Steven, whose mugging behind the guy's back almost prevented me from keeping a straight face while talking to this guy. He left the store shortly after that, muttering and gesturing to himself...





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina