Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


May 30, 2002 - 8:23 a.m.

Wahoo

(That seems to be a popular title in this series.)

Reasons to be cheerful, part 3

Today is my day off.

It's summery.

The pool chemistry is balanced and the water temp is increasing.

The coffee's good, it has hazelnut in it.

I can walk around the house naked if I want.

I can get away with ripping the carpet out of the living room and living with a plywood floor, because I am a Guy and I share the house with two other Guys. A female influence in my house would surely complain about the plywood look on a fairly regular basis. I don't have that same nesting instinct. Maybe I'll paint the plywood gray.

My old fat dog isn't going to die after all.

They're almost done with the eternal road project one block from my house.

I have good credit. (try having bad credit and you will know why this is a Reason to be Cheerful)

I'm getting better at my job, the folks there believe in me.


The reason for this cheerfulness? Two nights ago CB and Marques were goofing in the showroom, pretending that CB's hand was trapped in a Neon. I walked over and said "Here, let me show you how it's done!" I pretended to have my left hand trapped in the door. Ow! Ow! Let me out! Open the door! That's when CB asked, "What was it that caused that to happen to your hand?" (For those of you who don't know me, I was born with all the fingers on my left hand truncated at the first joint) I said "God gave me this hand before birth. It was a Test. He said 'Go out into the world with this hand, and let's see what you do with it.'"

CB said "Well JohnnieV, it looks like you've done pretty well for yourself." I replied "Thanks CB, I think I've done pretty well myself!"

That's when "Marques started whining about luck. He actually said this: "We're born with bad luck, and it just goes downhill from there."

Hmmm, I don't think that's the kind of attitude to have in Sales. And I know that hasn't been my experience. I got a shine on my shoes (except the suede ones) and a smile on my face!

I think Marques is his own worst enemy. Sometimes there are invisible disabilities. If you tell yourself you can't do something, it'll never happen.





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina