Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


February 20, 2002 - 9:06 p.m.

Common Sense

The local paper is soliciting input from locals to contribute to a new column called "Common Sense".

We're supposed to provide a resume, including experience in community events, and also provide a sample of our writing talent. And we're supposed to give them an idea of what we'll write about. They'll offer a small stipend for our efforts.

Well I'm tempted. I figure I could provide one of my blogs about my crazy-ass kids and I'd be in like Flynn (I always wondered what that meant, but it ends a sentence nicely don't you think?)

They'd probably criticize my overuse of commas, and question my content. But I can contribute something, they're setting the bar fairly low.

I'd like to write about how the city has recently gotten into the real estate business, buying run-down houses on streets where rich and influential people live. They fix them up and then lose money trying to sell them. I figure they might chastise the staff for such muckrakery, but if Joe Sixpack chooses to write about it, they're held harmless.

I walked through that house, it was half assed done at best. Nothing like 20 years of bad tenants to bring a grand old house to it's knees.

Hmmm, the ideas are starting to perk...





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina