Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


December 23, 2001 - 7:31 p.m.

Deal

There's a good reason for having a shitty attitude about the whole Christmas season. (Now please don't ask why, no one knows quite the reason)

Sons one and two and I went out in search of a Christmas tree three days before Christmas. That's the time to go. Most of the part time vendors have given up and burned or tossed their inventory having already made a monsterous profit. But there is always a place for the folks like us: Ace Hardware.

"All Trees - $5-10"

I had my eye on a magnificent Frasier Fir. You can't spray paint a Fraiser Fir. The blue gray coloring cannot be colored. My Intended showed me the beauty of Fraiser Firs several years ago when she gifted me one for Christmas. The hungover tree lot attendant unknowingly gave her a $20 discount on that tree. But on this rainy day trip, I was out voted by two on an 8 foot Douglas Fir.

Whatever. The Doug Fir was originally priced at $60. He was a good specimen but he kinda hooked to the right. I didn't notice that until we got him home. But because of that he was worth every bit of ten dollars, not sixty.

But he's green and he smells like pine and he looks fine.

Christmas Spirit... still AWOL.





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina