Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


September 13, 2001 - 8:42 p.m.

The Effect

It started to hit me today, the magnitude of the whole thing. Sure, you can run the numbers and calculate the human loss, the crushing weight of over 100 stories of stone steel and drywall on human bodies. But now I�m seeing the human face eclipsed by the crush of that which we construct. We became unwilling victims of the glorious buildings we create.

I�ve been watching Peter Jennings, George Bush, Diane Sawyer and many newspeople as they display the human impact of what has happened. I saw the man crying for the 700 families he lost in the upper stories of that building. I saw the man who lost his wife of ten years, who�s infectious laugh he described with such loving precision. I couldn�t take the emotion as the huge American flag was unfurled near the broken section of the Pentagon. I cried as the British played the National Anthem during the changing of the guard today. Fly the flag.


Son1 told me last night that on Monday night he had a feeling of dread, that something bad was going to happen. He has that ability, that gift. He didn�t know what it was but he knew it would be big.

On that morning as I watched those buildings burn, I thought of all those souls, those thousands of souls. They were unexpectedly disrupted from this earth and sent to the next plane to be transformed to a new energy source for reasons we don�t understand. It was disturbing to me but oddly comforting at the same time.


CoffeeCup Software is one of the finest software companies I�ve ever had the pleasure to do business with. They believe in their product, they believe in their customers, and they have the uncanny ability to do it all without taking themselves too seriously. Their CEO has been profoundly affected by this, as have we all. He�s rewarded his loyal customers (me) with a free copy of any of their software. The only cost is that I place this link on my website. Gladly. I hope this doesn't get me in trouble with Diaryland.com, because this is not self-promotion. This is a worthy cause; it is for all of us.

Donate






the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina