Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


April 14, 2004 - 10:22 p.m.

The kids are all right

It's Spring Break. The kids spend it with me every year. In years past they would go to MI and spend it at spidey's parent's house. But lately they haven't because they're too old for that now. That's okay with me, I always felt cheated because of it.

I'm not one of those parents that has their kids underfoot all the time. I get them on weekends and on special occasions. The joy I feel knowing they're asleep under my roof is one that's hard to express in words.

I got a call from Son2 today. It was warm today and he was looking to assemble the hammock in the back yard, but he couldn't find the chains to hang it from the rack. We'd both been involved in that activity last fall but I'll be damned if I can remember where they are either. In the midst of this call he told me he'd found a box in the store room with all of his school papers from nursery school through first grade. I smiled inwardly, knowing he'd hit the mother lode; much as I had three months ago.

"It's so cool going through this stuff! I can remember when I'd done this stuff, drawn these pictures!"

"Why do you think I save this stuff?"

He had more for me when I got home. The box was emptied out onto the coffee table. He had papers with his name crudely lettered out. His pictures of people consisting of little more than heads with arms and legs sticking out of them.


A four year old's perspective of the world is far different than a young man at age 16. This is what I saved for him, a method of time travel. This was his first discovery that I had done such a thing.

His brother has yet to explore.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina