Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


May 17, 2003 - 5:26 p.m.

Chemistry Class, 2003

Son2 and I pulled the cover off the pool last weekend. The water was as clear as it could be� no surprises. We washed off the cover and set it to dry. We�re getting good at this.

We also gave the filter an acid bath, that�s always fun. The yellow acid comes pouring out of the filter drain, hissing and steaming. It does a nice job of cleaning the concrete driveway too. We�re supposed to do this every year, to clean the mineral deposits off of the filter tubes.

I greased up all the gaskets with silicon grease and got all the hoses clamped in place. All this work was a full day job. It�s always worth the effort.

I started re-filling it this week. It takes several hours with a hose, I always drain it down by about one third, to get it below the top water inlet. Doing this always messes up the pH though, the water here is incredibly hard. I finished filling it this morning, and started the filter.

I just checked the pH, off the charts! The test kit is supposed to show a nice reddish orange when the pH is right, this sample was a nice shade of magenta. There isn�t a color in the chart that corresponds to this value!

So I got out the muriatic acid and poured a half gallon into the bucket. Working with acid is a magical experience; the fumes take my breath away! I�m hoping it wasn�t too much, when it�s this far off it�s always a guessing game.

Now we wait for the water to warm up.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina