Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


April 09, 2003 - 6:39 a.m.

Loose Ends

I can blather on and on about my own feelings in this space because they�re my own. When the feelings and events involve other people, I tend to be more circumspect. (Love that word.) To sum up, someone very important to me is going through a life changing event and everything, including me, is in a constant state of flux. I expected this and I feel confident it will have a happy ending. That�s me, Mr. Optimism. Do stay tuned.


That optimism comes in handy when dealing with Son1�s problem. As you may remember his engine disassembled itself shortly before Christmas Break. He managed to get a replacement used engine installed in his car with help from his compadres at the career center. One of the would-be mechanics neglected to tighten the B+ terminal on the alternator. Engine vibration and the loose connection worked like an arc welder and sawed that bolt right off. On Sunday he arrived with a dead battery and a bad attitude about his ride. Last night we spent a happy three hours bolting a new alternator into that thing. He turned the key, it sprang to life and the new alternator was pumping 13.5VDC into the battery! Happy Days! He turned it off; and we spent a few minutes congratulating ourselves on a job well done. Then he turned it back on again. The new alternator started squealing like a lusty young girl enjoying her first real orgasm. (Don�t ask me about that metaphor, or how I would know.) Not as much fun though. Damn. Bad bearing. The squealer goes back to Auto Zone tonight for a worthy replacement, and Yours Truly will do the swap tonight. This needs to get done.







the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina