Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


January 07, 2003 - 9:45 p.m.

Son2's turn

or

I want to die

or

Suicide Watch, Son2

I don't mean to make light of a serious subject. But the difference between my children is night and day. Son1 is quiet and brooding, Son2 is overt and happy-go-lucky.

But they spring from the same roots. And the younger one watches what the older one did.

I got the call from Spidey yesterday: "The School called."

The school never calls to ask how the hell are ya, they never want to chat. It's like the bank calling, it's never good news.

"Son2 has been discussing suicide, he needs to seek treatment before he can return to school."

Shit.

While he was here with me over Christmas break, his girlfriend of three weeks dumped him. Three weeks. She left Son2 for the guy she'd been seeing before she started up with him. This was apparently the last straw, as he told at least three well meaning people with pencils at the ready today, intently listening and taking notes on every word he said. Yes I want to kill myself.

"Have you tried?"

"Yes"

"What did you do?"

"I cut myself"

"How?"

"With box cutters"

(may I say at this point that the advent of Sept. 11 has turned the all-purpose Stanley knife into a single purpose - cutting boxes. well that and hijacking planes and suicide... neither endeavor would enhance the fine reputation of the Stanley

Corporation. nice spin, Stan. but I digress...)

"Where?"

"On my wrists."

"Can I see?"

The cuffs are rolled back to reveal not ugly scars and scabs but a fine line, barely visible. Any self-respecting cat could inflict worse damage.

"When did you do this?"

"Three weeks ago."

Okay, I think that three weeks would not yield the fine healing I'm seeing on these wrists, this skin, this fruit of my loins. He's reaching. But the Social Worker has visions of the Plaintiff's lawyers dancing in his head.

After the interview he decides that perhaps an in-patient stay is best. "We need to assess the best course of action given his intent."

Yeah, whatever. We need to get this kid back in school again. And if he learns to cope with his adolescent feelings a litle better then I'm all for it. Where do I sign?

Son2 tells me what he's feeling, unlike Son1. He feels he's failed. He wanted to solve his problems on his own. So then why did you bleat the "I want to die" mantra to anyone who would listen?

Stay tuned





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina