Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


November 03, 2002 - 6:10 p.m.

Painting again

Those of you that know me know that I cannot leave things alone in my house. I'm always doing something to it. It's part of who I am.

It's time to change the living room. Really, it's the only room I haven't changed since I moved here. By the looks of things, it hasn't been changed in a long, long time.

There was a wallpaper border around the top perimeter of the room. It looks as if that was pasted on with wheat paste. Now that's a remnant of a bygone era. It resisted my efforts with Dif and a putty knife. It took several applications and two nights of work, but it's all gone now. Good riddance, the room looks taller now.

The ceiling is covered in acoustic tile with cove molding around the perimeter and picture molding one half inch below that. Very elegant. I decided to roll on a coat of ceiling paint. The texture of the ceiling is an important aspect of the whole room. It also precludes any of my faux finish attempts in this room.

I have friends who are more astute in this whole decorating and finishing stuff than I am. As she said to me, if I have a texture on the ceiling and a texture in the carpeting, a faux finish on the walls would turn my living room into a "furball".

Duly noted. I'm doing a solid color on the walls.

Warm colors. Cool colors. Who knew of all this stuff? I picked a warm color for the walls. Think of coffee with creamer added to it and you kinda have an idea of the color I painted on the cove and picture molding today.

I never paid so much attention to temperatures on my walls before, but I think the end result is going to look very nice, thank you very much. I expect to be done painting within a few days, and the carpeting will be down in about ten days. This will put an end to my plywood flooring life that I've lived since May.





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina