Whoa! Didja get the numbers off that truck?!?


May 17, 2002 - 10:52 p.m.

$ucce$$

Today was the first sale!

I sold a 2002 Ram 1500 4WD pickup. It was a beautiful truck with 20" alloy wheels and all the trimmings. It had four doors and a bedliner too. The guy had already shopped around several dealers before coming to us (me).

I'd like to think that my dad was there in spirit as the happy new truck owner and I shook hands and he drove away. I often wonder what he thinks of his son the sales guy, since he did it for most of his life.

The long standing tradition (I guess) is to cut off the tie on the guy who makes his first sale in the dealership. The other rookie in the place got out of it because he only owns one tie. (They didn't tell him that, he still wonders why they "missed him". Oh to be young again.)

My sales manager tipped me off in advance so I went home at lunch and put on an older tie that had a permanent stain on it. Ed playfully dragged me over to the sales desk by my tie, and ceremoniously did the deed with a razor blade. I was required to wear the tie for the remainder of my shift with the severed end tucked in my upper suit jacket pocket like a ragged trophy. I wore it with pride. I even went out to the Italian joint to pick up our dinner order dressed that way. I'm sure I provided dinner conversation for one or two tables. I really don't mind. I can buy several ties with the commission I made on that sale.

Just before closing Rich and his wife came in looking at Dakota pickups. We test drove a nice Patriot Blue extended cab that he liked well enough to get the paperwork started. If his credit's good, I may close another one tomorrow.

Damn, this is fun!





the last one -*- the next one


Current Terr Alert Level
Terror Alert Level
OMG, She's agonna blow!

blah blah:


book
about me
archives
notes
mothership
contact
readme

Elsewhere:

UncleBob
Ibepiglet
mkm
kitchenlogic
BoxFactoryBill
laurel825
weetabix
nixtress
porktornado
discothekid
sunnflower
Janina